help needed re fitting new fan

ROYWIDD 20:34 02 Jul 04

Can anyone please explain very simply how i can fit a new processor fan?Also,which fan is needed for an athlon xp2000?The present one is just over 2 years old,and isn't working well,the processor is going over 50 deg quite quickly,with all the associated probs,programs freezing etc.Many thanks....roywidd

jonnytub 20:38 02 Jul 04

xp2000 should run fine at 50-60, maybe prob lies elsewhere?

jonnytub 20:40 02 Jul 04
  ROYWIDD 20:47 02 Jul 04

hi jonnytub,thanks for info,the problem is that programs just lock up after a while,needing a reset,bcos the cursor freezes too,i'll try a new fan,but any other ideas please?Could it be a trojan etc?Is a fan easy to fit?I've got basic knowledge...roywidd

Fruit Bat /\0/\ 21:08 02 Jul 04
  accordion 21:11 02 Jul 04

Fitting a fan is easy, most clip into place, some may have a screw fixing. If you remove the fan, take it along to your local PC shop as a pattern to ensure you get the right replacent.

I have two PC's one with an AMD Athlon processor and both of them run at over 55 degrees. During the recent hot weather I increased the cut off levels to 65 for warning and 70 for shut down.
No problems, and no more shutting down.

jonnytub 21:12 02 Jul 04

yeah fan quite easy to fit, instructions usually pretty easy to follow, i do think that the problems lie in the software environment though, have you got the usual installed, spybot, adaware, antivirus ?
also try a regcleaner

jonnytub 21:14 02 Jul 04

also have you added any new hardware/software lately, been on any naughty sites ?

ROYWIDD 11:16 03 Jul 04

Thanks for all your suggestions,i'll investigate further on the software problem,yes jonnytub,all the usual installed,avg,adaware,where can i find a reg cleaner please?Also,nothing new installed recently,how do you mean"naughty" lol.Dont think avg will find trojans,i'll look though.

jonnytub 03:07 04 Jul 04