Help me...Please..XP Problem!

askforlinda 16:02 29 Jul 03

Could anyone please help me. I have a black screen which says Windows could not start because the following file is missing or corrupt

\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\CONFIG\SYSTEM

I have just had it back to the tech and he had to reinstall Windows for the second time in 3 months and I was just starting to reinstall all my programs and it has died again two days after getting it back. I have attempted to get fixes from Microsoft Knowledge base but am unable to get any response from the machine. I am not an expert so am not into dos or anything like that and since I am running XP that is of no use.

I invested in an expensive system with a Gigabyte SINXP1394 Motherboard with 1 GB of ram and 2 SATA 120GB HD's in a striped raid configuration and a backup 80GB drive running P4 2.66 but have yet been able to set it up properly.

I am desperate to fix this problem so I can start to use my cable broadband... I think I may have overinvested in this machine and wasted my hard earned money. I would appreciate any advice..thanks.

Some think that it may have something to do with Raid and others with software?

The Transporter 16:27 29 Jul 03

Have you got each drive on its own individual cable. I have not yet used sata but with raid you can only have one hard drive on one ide channel. Which is the same principal.

Try setting the pc to boot up with just one hard drive connected. Install XP fresh, dont try and recover/ repair it, it is faster just to wipe the hard drive and start again. Install XP into a partition about 8 GB big. Then partition the rest of the drive how you like.