help help help... please.

Jamesrooneyefc 12:43 17 Dec 03

hi, i am really new to computing (although i have had my pc for a while now i have never got round to understanding it).

i am wanting to upgrade my gfx card, i currently have a gforce 4 (128mb i think) i am looking to upgrade and a friend told me to upgrade to a radoen 9600 pro 128mb for the money i have (£130). however he said i shouldnt do it unless i upgrade my mobo & cpu as i wont see much improvment? is this right?

also i want a new case for my pc and want to know if i could just transfer the parts from my current standard advent pc into a new case?

finally (haha) i have been trying to install a game (BF1942) but i get an error message the first one i had said i have missing cab files and i had another one last night saying specific folders are missing? any ideas on what to do anyone..

cheers

Jay.

gold 47 13:11 17 Dec 03

You haven't said what your CPU IS!!! or what type your mobo is my older computer runs a AMD 1700 but the Radoen 9600 i put in didn't work to well i sent it back to QVC i was lucky there but i think that was my fault i had forgot to remove the old drivers and that had caused a conflict and yes you can transfer the parts from your old computer to a new case if your computer is over three years old then it would be no for the MOBO as it wouldn't fit.

rickf 14:29 17 Dec 03

More info please before anyone can give you useful advice. What m/b,cpu,os?

Gongoozler 14:29 17 Dec 03