Help fitting a new hard drive

rob_absalom 09:39 04 Mar 03

Hi all,

This is my first post here and I was wondering if anyone could give me some pointers. I currently have a Dell PC, Petium 3 500mhz processor, 256meg ram. The current hard drive is only 8 gig and I want to install a larger one (40-60gig). I have been told that there is a chance that because my PC is about 4 yrs old the bios might not recognise the new disk size, is this right? Although I'm not a beginner with PC's I'm cerainly no expert in this area. How can I check to see if a new drive is going to work ok? I don't want to order one for the pc to still only recognise 8 gig of space. any help would be much appreciated. Cheers Rob

MAJ 09:48 04 Mar 03

You might need to update your BIOS to recognise the new drive. There are a couple of ways to get round it, if you don't fancy doing that and personally I wouldn't advise you to update the BIOS, it can be dangerous if you don't know how to do it properly. Most drive manufacturers will have a software solution you can use to get your drive recognised, a Drive Overlay, I think they call it, I used one last week but can't remember the exact name of it. Another way to get your computer to recognise your new drive is to use a PCI controller card. This slots into one of your PCI slots and allows you to connect other CD/Drive devices.

Gongoozler 10:02 04 Mar 03