Help with Diskeeper Lite

prima12 20:21 17 Nov 03

Hi, I've been using Diskeeper Lite for the last 6 months without any problems. I've done 2 things recently, 1. I upgraded to Sygate 7.7 2. I started to download the home edition of Diskeeper 8.0.but decided not to install it. My Diskeeper Lite that I had not had any trouble with now refuses to open. I have uninstalled it, reinstalled it, tried reinstalling from a disc, and from click here. It doesn't seem to matter what I do it won't open. I get the icon on my desktop but when I click on it nothing happens, it just 'greys' out, the same thing happens if I select it from the programs list. Anybody any ideas or suggestions for another speed defragger?
P.

Pesala 20:26 17 Nov 03

If you can restore back to a point before you tried to install Disk-keeper 8.0, that should solve it. Otherwise, you could try this:

Uninstall Diskeeper lite

Reininstall Diskeeper 8.0

Unintstall Diskeeper 8.0

Reinstall Diskeeper Lite.

Maybe Diskeeper 8.0 has left some registry entries that are confusing Diskeeper lite. Just a guess.

prima12 20:46 17 Nov 03

I did forget to say I'm using w98se, so I think system restore doesn't apply does it?

Pesala 20:54 17 Nov 03

System Restore seldom works for me in Windows ME either so I prefer not to rely on it. I think it is better in XP. Maybe try the only other method, or wait for a more expert second opinion.

easyrider66 20:56 17 Nov 03

HI,
Try uninstalling again, then go to start- run-enter regedit, hit f3 and search for and remove all entries for diskeeper lite. Then reinstall diskeeper lite.

Regards.

easyrider66 20:58 17 Nov 03

Sorry!

Meant to say remove entries for diskeeper 8 as well.

prima12 21:15 17 Nov 03

Tried that but without any success, regedit didn't come up with any entries, I even 'end tasked' everything except explorer and systray when I actually tried to install it but that didn't make difference either. I'm stumped on this as it all seems to load OK.