Help cant find lead to connect my camcorder to pc

CLAIRE29 21:11 22 Feb 06

Ive got a Samsung VP-L750 camcorder, and dont know what leads I need to connect with my pc. I want to transfer my Hi8 tapes to dvd, but my camcorder only has s-video and av output? please can anyone advise me what im looking for?
Im new to computers and dont want to buy something that isnt going to work!!

ade.h 21:20 22 Feb 06

Your camcorder's manual would tell you that. You need to ascertain whether it is equipped with a USB2 or Firewire port.

Pamy 21:24 22 Feb 06

You have told us what output sockets your camcorder has, now tell us what input/output sockets your computer has.

CLAIRE29 21:26 22 Feb 06

Havent got the manual lost it when moving, all i do know is that its an anologue not digital. its nearly 4yrs old- hasnt got a firewire port, just s-video...

CLAIRE29 21:30 22 Feb 06

usb, s-video 7 pin my camcorder only has a 4 pin

Pamy 21:50 22 Feb 06

not sure that the s-video on your computer is an input, so think your video card is not suitable. Do you know what video card you have

ade.h 22:14 22 Feb 06

Most graphics cards have Video Out (VO) but for your old camcorder, you would need Video In, which always comes in the form of VIVO. That's the acronym to look for.

CLAIRE29 23:07 22 Feb 06

I dont know what a video card is? not sure if my computer has one...
can i buy them- is it software i can download or is it a card ( as a sim card) sorry im new to computer speech...

ed-0 23:29 22 Feb 06

has said a VIVO card would do the job. It is a PCI card that would need to be fitted into the computer. Not a difficult task. Prices can vary a lot.