Help building a photography website

sdm69 22:53 08 Aug 06

Hi,

I'm a photographer and would like to create a website to advertise my services. I would like my website to have a frontpage, a gallery/slideshow of photos, contact details, pricing etc. I do not want to use a third party to create a website for me.

I've read articles suggesting that the website "looks good to the search engines, so you get coveted high ranking. This involves choosing the right keywords and adjusting your page title, meta tags and firs paragraph to showcase them". All of this is "science" to me and I was wondering whether "sitebuilder" software is the way to go and whether this method would be sufficient? A friend suggested that I use Yahoo's sitebuilder. On this forum I've seen recommendations for dreamweaver and netobjects. Do they all do the same thing?

I'd be grateful for any recommendations or advice.

Gaz 25 01:47 09 Aug 06

Try NVU, a free dreamweaver alternative. It's hard to get to grips with but it works flawlessly.

click here

Or, you could try Namo, netobjects or a free online web-builder or template.

However, for a photography website.. I would suggest you consider getting a professional to do you a small one.

Gaz 25 01:48 09 Aug 06

By the way... click here

Theres a tutorial for NVU.. which is free.

sdm69 14:50 10 Aug 06

Thanks for the advice. I had a "peek" at NVU and admittedly felt it was a bit too advanced for me. I like the idea of a web-builder. Based on my reseach 1and1 (for web-building and hosting)gets fairly good reviews. So I think I'm going to go with them, unless anyone has any other recommendations.

Many thanks.

deano_b 22:35 10 Aug 06

Personally, for my site I use WebStudio 4 - click here its really easy to get to grips with and is fully grag and drop compliant!

deano_b 22:35 10 Aug 06

Personally, for my site I use WebStudio 4 - click here its really easy to get to grips with and is fully drag and drop compliant!

anchor 12:08 11 Aug 06