hello newbie here!

mothercranky 09:25 20 Jun 06

phew... am so glad i found you guys have loads of questions

i bought an acer travelmate laptop in Feb and absoloutley love it. my broadband connection is virgin, but they are charging me 24.99 a monh and i only have a 1mbps connection. i have been told that my line can only accept this and it cannot be upgraded. can this be right? should i be paying this much? i have seen other offers that seem so much better but dont really understand what the catches could be!

i use firefox browser (as recommended by my 15 yr old) which i like too, is there a shortcut you can set up anywhere where you can press one key to insert your email adress anywhere? or maybe something like the 'autofill' on internet explorer?

i have also noticed that my hotmail account does not allow me to use the "add photos" option now i use firefox. why does that happen? is there a way around it?

ooh i am looking forward to expanding my technical mind!!!!!

GANDALF <|:-)> 09:44 20 Jun 06

You need to speak to customer services as the connection that you are paying for is 8Mb unlimited. You will probably only need the 1Mb connection with a 3Gb download limit at £14.99. However there is no minimum contract with Virgin so I would look at Tiscali at £12.99 or ask your neighbours what they think of their providers. just because someone recommends a provider does not mean that they will work well at your line.

The speed of connection depends on the distance from your exchange and many other factors so 1Mb may be all you can get. I live in a small village that has an 8Mb connection 5 miles away on a large, new estate they can only get 512K....mind you I live behind Princess Anne's gaff and I'm sure this has nothing to do with the speed of the connection;-))

You can use leaving Virgin as a lever to get them to reduce your monthly cost.