Heatsink tightness

chub_tor 14:36 24 Apr 08

I am putting together a new Athlon 64 X2 system on an ECSNForce6M-A Motherboard and using a Thermaltake RX K8 Silent Boost Heatsink. All parts were purchased in the USA while I was on vacation. This is my first build for some time and in the past I have always found that the heatsink lever is quite a hard push down and that the heatsink is really tight on the processor. With these new parts the heatsink fits tight but yet I can still slide the heatsink over the processor on the thermal grease after the lever is pushed down. Before I switch on I would like some opinions as to whether this sounds normal or not.

Ditch999 14:49 24 Apr 08

Maybe I'm reading it wrong but that HS doesnt appear to support AM2 CPUs.

Ditch999 14:50 24 Apr 08

Post the exact CPU specs please.

Ditch999 15:01 24 Apr 08

I wouldn't advise switching it on until you are sure it is a correct HSF for your CPU.

chub_tor 15:57 24 Apr 08

CPU is OEM:
AMD A64 X2 5600+ Ty AM2
Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core
ADA5600IAA6CZ

Heatsink is:Thermaltake RX Series P/N CL-P0296
Clearly says on packagingApplication for AMD Athlon 64 X2. click here

Motherboard is click here

Ditch999 15:59 24 Apr 08

Yes but there are different sockets for X2. Your CPU is AM2 and I belive the X2 referred to on the HSF is 939.

chub_tor 16:13 24 Apr 08

I have the packaging and the Installation leaflet in front of me. Both say "Application for AMD Athlon 64 X2, Athlon 64 FX, Athlon 64, Sempron (Socket AM2/939/754)"

The heatsink fits over the Motherboard clips, it locks down but it just seems looser to me than in my past experience.

Ditch999 16:18 24 Apr 08

Then I guess its ok, but I would be keeping a close eye on your temperatures (which you should do anyway when installing a CPU) The BIOS temp is the quickest way to see how hot it gets and quickest to shut it off if necessary.

Ditch999 16:20 24 Apr 08