Header help

slightlymad 17:50 20 Feb 06

I'm using an image for my header. As it's in the background of the header div, I can't create a hotspot for a link to the home page. I'm thinking of creating a transparent gif and positioning it over the area that contains the logo. Am I going about this in the right way?

click here

slightlymad 01:15 21 Feb 06

No suggestions... it's occured to me that peeps might think that I've purloined someone's work, as I'm clearly using a template.

This is in fact the template that Paul Dell is offering to anyone who contributes to his plight, which djinn brought attention to in an earlier thread: click here.

As I'm still learning CSS, it's ideal for me to use as an aid. I've made quite a few modifications, so although it's not all my own work, I've personalised it quite a bit.

Anyway, I think my transparent gif idea worked OK, but I won't tick as resolved just yet in case someone comes up with a better solution.

quack 07:49 21 Feb 06

If you are using Frontpage you will find hotspots on the Pictures Toolbar. Just select the one you want and draw over the area you wish to use for a hyperlink.

slightlymad 11:26 21 Feb 06

Thanks, quack, but that's the point - you can't draw a hotspot over a background image - not in Dreamweaver, anyway...

The logo is "ArtyIt", on the right of the header. I've inserted a 1-pixel transparent gif into the header and used absolute positioning to place it over the logo, giving dimensions to match the logo area.

I hope this makes sense! Anyway, it's given the result that I was after, so I'll now tick as resolved.

Marie

djinn 16:17 21 Feb 06

Nice work Slightly ;-)

And thank you on behalf of Paul Dell for taking the time and effort to help out.

One wee thing you might want to do - change the class of the top navigation li elements - change the class of all but the current page to 'one' - that'll clearly mark the page you are on. Rinse and repeat for your other pages when you do them.