hardrive not found

northy 22:31 30 May 07

I HAVE DONE A REINSTALLE WITH WINDOWS XP , AND AFTER RUNNING SETUP I FORMATT THE DRIVE AND IT RUNS UNTIL , SHUTDOWN TO LOAD WINDOWS AND THEN SAYS DRIVE O NOT FOUND ,I HAVE CHECKED ALL CONNECTIONS AND TRIED 2 DIFFERENT HARDRIVES ,BUT THE PROBLEM IS STILL THERE , I AM NOT THAT GOOD WITH P.C. AND ANY HELP WOULD BE NICE,

PETER

lotvic 00:52 31 May 07

sounds like you will need to have the drivers on a floppy click here which tells you how.

Here is the main menu page for windowsreinstall.com click here where you can learn all the stuff you need about installing etc.

ps. please do not type in capital letters as it is considered to be 'shouting' and not polite.
It also makes it hard to read.

post back if you get any problems, we're all here to help.

northy 16:04 31 May 07

hi all
thanks lodvic, windows site says that i should download drivers for my p.c. , its a dell optiflex gx 270 , is it the ide drivers i require ,or can you please advise, sorry for caps last time ,
peter

Fruit Bat /\0/\ 17:41 31 May 07

Are they SATA drives?

Boot from the XP CD and at the F6 prompt load the drivers from a floppy disk.

If IDE drives then check in BIOS that the drives can be seen (watch the first sreen as it boots it should say the drives)

northy 22:40 31 May 07

hi fruitbat ,
no not sata drives ,ide ,at first boot it does not say anything about drives ,should i download ide drivers onto floppy and installe ,also what order should the drives be in the bois ,and are they set to auto ,what should i be looking for
peter

Fruit Bat /\0/\ 22:53 31 May 07

Boot into BIOS and set all drives to auto (there may be a functiom to auto detect the drives)

set the option to use CD as first boot dvice HDD as second.
save and exit (F10)

reboot and you should see the drives on the first boot up screen showing as primary master etc.

lotvic 23:04 31 May 07

Dell OptiPlex GX270 support page, Drivers & Downloads, Manual, Troubleshoot etc
click here?