I have never done an upgrade before and I need some info...I have a
several years old Packard Bell C300 which I want to upgrade HD memory
on.. I have been told that I can use any drive but I now have seen that
the system may not "recognise" all of the memory if I go too large.. I
have searched PB site, web and groups but cant find info specific to the
C300.. Would anyone care to direct me on this.. The drive I would to add
is the "Maxtor Fireball3 40GB UDMA133".

woodchip 11:11 07 Feb 03

What is your Operating System how old the computer there may be a limitation with the BIOS

Ghloria 11:29 07 Feb 03

OS windows 98 5.5 Computer at least 5 years old.

woodchip 11:53 07 Feb 03

No bios updates, just checked Packard Bell. only thing you can try is if you get a Seagate Barracuda 7200 you will be able to run it with the software that you get with the drive or download from the site. It may not need it but I think it Will

Ç̧ÇØ 12:24 07 Feb 03

32Gb is maximum unless you buy a PCI IDE controller

DieSse 12:25 07 Feb 03

There are two possible (probable) limits on a 5 year-old system.

Firstly, the system amy not be able to recogise the full capacity of the drive. You can try it, but it's unlikely. There are three possible fixes.

a) - An updated BIOS - woodchip has checked this and says this isn't an option for you.

b) - A plug-in controller card

c) - A utility program from the HDD manufacturer - most of them have it for free download from their site.

Secondly, the drive will not run at it's full rated UDMA/ATA speed (this is the the 100/133MHz bit of the spec). This won't stop it working, however.

If your system is capable of operating above UDMA33, then you will need an 80 wire IDE cable to use the higher speeds - but in any case it's unlikely your system will go above UDMA66. The only fix for this (if you want to fix it) is a plug-in controller card. The 80 wire cable is a good idea whatever you do, though.

Ç̧ÇØ 12:35 07 Feb 03