Hard Drive Partitioning and reformat

Boluwd 21:01 30 Nov 03

I have a 40Gb as master and 20Gb as slave. The 20Gb is my data drive but it is nearly full due to the very large My Music folder. There is also a My music folder on the 40Gb which acts as an overflow. I wish to partition the 40Gb using Partition Magic into a 10Gb (OS Win98SE and slimmed down programs) and a 30Gb Music partition. I would then transfer all the music from my 20Gb drive and free this up to a purely data drive. Total music is approx 29Gb.

I want to reformat the 40gb drive and reinstall Windows and reduce the number of programs. Can I firstly partition into 10Gb/30Gb and then reformat and reinstall on the 10Gb OR would I have to reformat the 40Gb first, reinstall windows and then partition into 10/30???

I hope I've made myself clear!

Diodorus Siculus 21:26 30 Nov 03

You can partition at any stage; just be sure to back up data etc before stating the partition, even with partition manager.

Boluwd 21:32 30 Nov 03

I haven't made this clear have I?
The real question is...Can I reformat and reinstall Windows on a 10Gb partition of a 40Gb harddrive? It's not the partitioning that's so important. I would rather be able to firstly partition the 40Gb into 10/30 and keep the music files on the 30 partition and THEN reformat and reinstall Windows on the 10Gb partition.

LastChip 21:38 30 Nov 03

Providing you make the 10Gb partition active.

Boluwd 21:46 30 Nov 03

What do you mean by "active"?

A_World_Maker 22:23 30 Nov 03

active=boot drive letter C

Boluwd 22:30 30 Nov 03

I see!

My intention was to have c:\ as 10Gb OS and programs, d:\ as 30Gb My Music. Then the slave drive would become e:\ and 20Gb data storage.

So you all confirm that I can partition the 40Gb into 10/30 FIRST and then reinstall the OS on the 10Gb partition?

....he asks nervously!!

A_World_Maker 22:39 30 Nov 03