Hard Drive Paranoia

  killiepie 13:23 25 Nov 08
Locked

Hi.I have recently purchased a second hand PC. The dealer has advised me that the hard drive has been returned to "factory setting". Does this mean all information previously on the drive has been cleared? Alternatively can info still be lurking on the drive I am thinking personal/finanacial/porn.

Thanks

  Clapton is God 13:31 25 Nov 08

It means exactly what is says.

The H/D is in the state it was at the moment it left the factory and there will be none of the previous user's personal info on it.

  Pineman100 18:52 25 Nov 08

As CiG says, the disk should be clean.

But if you're still not 100% comfortable about it, why not run a secure erase on it yourself, with this free software?

click here

This thread is now locked and can not be replied to.

Intel Coffee Lake 8th-gen Core processors release date rumours

1995-2015: How technology has changed the world in 20 years

Framestore’s haunting post-WWII title sequence for new BBC series SS-GB

How to install MacOS Sierra on an older Mac: Get Sierra running on Macs & MacBooks from before 2009