hahnel battery charger

swingtime 15:21 02 Jan 04

Hi I have Hahnel twin powerstation battery charger

input: 230v~50hz

Output: aa2x (2.8 v= 80/200ma

aaa 2x92.8v = 80/32ma

Is this charger capable of charging the newer higher rated rechargeable batteries i.e. 2300ah.

Thanks in advance Desmond

Salinger 15:49 02 Jan 04

Since you haven't had a reply yet - I'm not an expert in this, but until you get a definitive reply I'd suspect that they, the heavy duty batteries, will simply take longer to charge on your Hahnel.

woodchip 15:52 02 Jan 04

Ni-cad and Ni-ma batteries need the right charger or they can explode the batteries

Salinger 15:59 02 Jan 04

I presume you ARE talking about a NiMh charger?

siouxah1 16:37 02 Jan 04

Have a look here

click here trickle charging harmful?

Yes you can but read this first. It may not be worth the effort. To use an old charger requires a time to charge calculation and lots of time. Plus the need to monitor the charger during the complete cycle. Plus it must of course be of the correct voltage output.

Rather than buy a charger with each set of batteries it is better to pay a greater sum of cash and buy an intelligent battery charger that charges each individual battery, two or four at at a time. I'm talking AA size.

Regards Brian j

siouxah1 16:40 02 Jan 04

Sorry about that, try here and go to FAQ's battery charging.

click here

siouxah1 17:05 02 Jan 04

You may also like to have a look here at a previous thread re battery charging. Here you will find the method of calculating charge time.

click here

Stuartli 17:17 02 Jan 04

If you have an older Ni-Cad battery charger you cannot recharge Ni-MH batteries with it.

A modern Ni-MH can recharge both types safely.

The ones to go for, as mentioned, are the "intelligent" fast charger type which will fully charge the batteries and then go into trickle mode.