Graphics Cards help!!

Aziraphael 20:57 20 Jan 07

I have just upgraded my computer to teh following: AMD Athlon 64 4000+, 2Gb RAM, Asus A8N Sli Deluxe Mobo, 2x Gigabyte nVidia 6600GT Sli Graphics cards. My problem is this. I have been using one of the Graphics cards for the last 2 years, no problem. I have just installed the second, flipped the EZ card over to two card possition, pluged in 4 pin power connector, put on the bridge, and then went into windows to try and enable the SLi in the nVidia desktop manager. However, the checkbox that the instuctions say should be there is not and there is a message saying I have to remove non Sli compatable graphics cards to enable it.

I've tried reinstalling drivers, I've checked the hardware manager and it recognises that there are two graphics cards and that they're both the same, one in port 7 on in port 8. I even tried disabling the one shown in port 8, but to no avail.

Oh, and I've also changed the BIOS setting from Auto to SLI just in case.

What have I done wrong!?!?!??!

Strawballs 21:14 20 Jan 07

I know nothing about this but I did find a walk through click here hope it is of some help.

Aziraphael 21:22 20 Jan 07

Thanks for that but it kind of goes awry when it says "plug in the power supply on your graphics card"

There are no power inlets on the graphics card, just an EZ plud 4 pin power supply on the mobo to supply power for SLI.

My computer also never said "you have an sli enabled computer". The manual just says activate it through nVidia manager which I tried and wouldn't give me the option as outlined above.

Thanks for trying though.

Strawballs 21:27 20 Jan 07

Is there something in the Bios for this?

Aziraphael 10:45 21 Jan 07

The manual says that as long as the BIOS setting is either AUTO or SLI it should work. I've tried it on both settings and it doesn't make any difference.

Arthur Scrimshaw 11:34 21 Jan 07