I currently have a:

1700+ Athlon XP
256MB PC133
40 + 46gig hard drives
GF2MX 32mb
Windows XP
iiyama 22" Monitor

On 3D Mark 2001 SE I get 2,800 with the latest NVIDIA drivers

I have decided to upgrade my graphics card, as I hope this will allow me to run some of the newer games better. I don't want to spend hundreds so please don't recommend an ATI 9800 of a GF FX 5900. I’m looking at a max of about £70 I have been looking at a GF3 Ti200 64mb DDR click here does anyone have a GF3 and if so are they any good? Im also keen to know if anyone has this exact card Gainward Geforce3 Ti-200 Powerpack Ti450 Golden Sample /AGP 64MB DDR With TV-Out and has run any benchmarks on it.

Thanks Michael

Ironman556 18:20 04 Jun 03

The Geforce 3 will not support the latest direct X, but they are good cards still. All it will mean is that you probably won't be able to use all the effects in new games. (I've been using a Rage Fury for over 3 years and it can still handle most games). If you've found one at the right price then go for it. They are better cards than the Geforce 4 MX's. The Geforce 4 Ti 4200's can be found for around £100 now, but that's a bit over your budget.

click here and have a look at the Sapphire 9000 Pro's.

Rayuk 18:23 04 Jun 03

If you take a look at this list may be of some help in picking a card
click here

citadel 18:33 04 Jun 03

I changed from a gf2 to gf4ti4200 and found a big increase in games playability. I would advise you to get one of these as it will be able to handle the new games that are coming out, even though they are not dx9 cards. They cost a little more than your budget but will be more future proof. I think ti4200 are coming down in price now. My score has gone up to 8000 and could be more if I used newer drivers.

goonerbill 18:56 04 Jun 03

heres a complete run down of the best prices on graphics cards click here and heres a run down on just geforce 4 cards click here and heres a run down on cards with 128mb onboard