Graphics card or Monitor problem ???

star_4781 16:43 09 Nov 03

Would really appreciate some help, as I'm not very good with pc's.

Not so long back I bought a 15" TFT Monitor (Model L5AK5), it is installed as a plug & play, I have been using it through the onboard graphics port & it has been ok.

Yesterday I bought a graphics card (model MSI FX5200 - nVidia Geforce) as I want to play games on my pc. Hardware installation went ok & my XP o/s recognised the new software & installed its driver ok (the Manufacturers own driver wasnt Microsoft approved so didnt install that) however when I tried to load up a game the 1st screen option which showed the 3D display as being a 'Plug & play monitor on the Nvidia Geforce AGP' seemed ok - but when I accepted this suddenly the monitor switched off & said No Input was being received & told me to check cables.

I removed the graphics card & tried to load up the game on the onboard graphics & this works fine but when I try to play a game through the graphics card the monitor just switches off every time & continues to advise to input signal.

Is there anything I can do ???

hugh-265156 16:56 09 Nov 03

when you say "the Manufacturers own driver wasnt Microsoft approved so didnt install that" what driver did you install.

the graphics card will work ok in 2d without drivers albet at 60hz but will not work when playing 3d games.

download and install the latest driver click here

WaiKent 16:59 09 Nov 03

Hey, that is exactly the same monitor i got and exactly what happened to me yesterday. it just turned itself off and i just pressed the reset button to make it work again. im not sure what was conflicting it. and noone on pcadvisor could help me. they thought it was graphic drivers but im not so sure.

star_4781 17:45 09 Nov 03

Thankyou huggyg for your response.

I let windows update the driver automatically, when you get the wizard where it says install the manufacturers cd or allow windows to update - I used that option.