Going Wireless (complete Novice!)

GroupFC 19:32 23 Jan 08

I am a complete numpty about all of this (as may become apparent from the questions!) and need some help.

I currently connect to the Internet through Pipex and an adsl modem. I have an extension lead running from the back bedroom across the landing to the extension socket in the master bedroom at the front of the house. I only have the PC, but we will be shortly acquiring a laptop (when Mrs GroupFC has decided which one she wants – that may be the subject of another post elsewhere!).

I have been given a Netgear DG834GT wireless ADSL router and 2 Speedtouch 121g wireless adapters and I want to try and set these up to connect to the Internet and eventually share the connection with the laptop.

Looking at the manuals for the router it talks about connecting the router to the PC using an Ethernet cable and setting it up that way (and presumably detaching it at some point moving it to the phone socket and setting up a wireless network). The only problem is that my PC is quite old and I don’t think it has an Ethernet port.

My questions are really: -

· Presumably it is possible to check through Device Manager if it has an Ethernet port but what should I be looking for?
· Will the router work from the extension socket or does it have to be attached to the main telephone socket (I realise that filters will need to be used on all sockets)?
· Will the Speedtouch adapters work with the Netgear router or do they have to be from the same manufacturer?
· If I plug the router into the phone line and install one of the wireless adapters on the PC will I then be able to configure the router that way (thus avoiding the need for an Ethernet connection)?
· Assuming that I can do it the way I want – is there anything that I should pay particular attention to, to make sure that it all works!