Gigabyte GA-7VA S.M.A.R.T enable ?

rdh660 19:24 07 Apr 03

I am a PC novice and I have just replaced my old gigabyte motherboard with a Gigabyte GA-7VA board.
I have two maxtor hard disks fitted and with my older Gigabyte board I could to enable S.M.A.R.T
capabilities in the bios. However This later board reports on boot up that both disks are S.M.A.R.T capable but the function is disabled but I cannot find any option in the bios to enable the feature. The manual doesn't give any hints either eg switches or jumpers to change and I have mailed gigabyte but received no reply.

Can anybody tell me how to enable this feature on this board?
regards Rob.

y_not 19:57 07 Apr 03

Have you installed the 4 in 1 drivers?

click here - not sure but I think that these are your problem - you are only using a small part of the mainboard abilities until you install the drivers.

Hope it helps

Tony

hugh-265156 20:50 07 Apr 03

go into the bios and look under advanced configuration.enable and exit saving changes.

rdh660 20:51 07 Apr 03

Sorry I've been offline for a while. Yes I have already installed the 4 in 1 drivers for the board but I am not given the option to enable the SMART function at all in the bios or anywhere else for that matter .
Thanks for the idea and the link.
Rob

rdh660 20:54 07 Apr 03

Thanks Huggy I'll give that a try now.

rdh660 21:06 07 Apr 03

In the bios the advanced section does not give the option to enable or disable the SMART capability.

I don't know much about these things but is there some software for the hard disks I may have not installed somewhere along the line that would help? (probably a daft question)
Rob

hugh-265156 01:01 08 Apr 03

and easy way of finding info on the parts inside the box what drivers and programs are running etc.it also provides links to makers websites.can be helpful at times.click here from that im afraid i havent got a clue.:-)

DieSse 08:13 08 Apr 03