Getting a MPEG video CD to play

carlos 10:09 25 Feb 03

Created an mpeg video using Pinnacle DV. The mpeg plays fine if I click on the file created( automatically opens default video player and plays) but once I've burnt it to CD using Easy CD video CD wizard, I can't get the CD to play on the same PC unless I open the MPEGAV folder and double click the DAT file in it ( whilst in Windows Media player for eg). Also, it doesn't play automatically on my DVD player. Hope I'm making sense and would be very grateful for any help( new to this game)

beastieboy 10:27 25 Feb 03

A MPEG video should just be one single file methinks and therefore only 1 file should be on the CD - I'm pretty new to this also.

By the way, is the Pinnacle DV hardware any good?

Janusz

MAJ 11:00 25 Feb 03

A VCD wont autorun on a CD-ROM player. But if your DVD supports VCDs it should run okay on that.

carlos 12:31 25 Feb 03

Pinnacle seems good to me, but havn't tried others to compare. My DVD player is also CD, VCD player. When I burnt the MPEG movie to CD I ended up with 6 folders! CDDA, CDI, Karaoke, MPEGAV, SEGMENT and VCD!!! What am I doing, I wonder? The DAT file in the MPEGAV folder is the one that starts the movie if I open it in WWin Media player, for eg.

stlucia 12:57 25 Feb 03

I can't offer any more technical advice than the other contributers, but just to reassure you that I think you're doing the right thing:

I use Pinnacle DV and have created Video CDs by creating MPEG files in VCD format, and then burning them onto a blank CD-R using Roxio Platignum. When I've finished burning I end up with six files on the CD, just like you've described. And the movie then runs okay on my DVD player.

I would suggest that your only problem might be that your DVD player won't play home-made VCDs.

carlos 13:33 25 Feb 03