General pc maintenance - advice needed.

bear73 15:03 19 Oct 04

After a visit to my sister at the weekend it appears she is in dire need of help in keeping her pc clear of rubbish and maintenance tips. We spent most of the day trying to restore some speed to her very slow machine. She never does maintenance and it was obviously clogged with temporary internet files, old music downloads, temp files etc etc.

Anyway, I'm no expert and we just got rid of the stuff that we know clogs up the machine. I just wanted to double check the right and wrong things to do and get some general tips on how to keep your pc running smoothly.

Deleting Temporary Internet files - Where is this folder in XP? The path states Documents&Settings/Local Settings/Temporary Internet files - but when I look in Windows Explorer the Local Settings folder does not appear under Documents & Settings. This was the same on my sisters pc and we had to go into Internet Explorer options to delete them. Is the local settings folder hidden for some reason?

Windows/Temp files - Are these OK to delete? I remember when I used to work in an office and we were sending our pc's in for upgrades we were always told to regulalry clear out our TEMP folder. I do usually do this but wanted to check that it is the right thing to do.

Empty Recycle bin

Clear unwanted cookies.

Run Defragmenter and Scan Disk regularly.

Any other tips I can use and pass on. Any good programs that can help my sister in the clean up stakes? I use Norton Cleansweep and find this quite good - not sure whether I am allowed to give it to her to use aswell though???