Genealogy/family tree software or similar

Sparkly 11:54 17 Apr 07

Hi could anyone reccomend a good peice of software or web based Genealogy for tracing your family tree,i have never done any of this sort of thing before but it has only come to light recently that my mother told me that she did not know or have much information about her dad or (who died when she was small)his family or past, i have looked on the web but so many come up i am not sure which is the better.I would be searching mostly UK based as far as i can work out but to be able to trace members abroad might allso be usefull, i am not nessiceraly looking for a free prog and dont mind payeing but i would like it to be a good prog or website based prog where you get what you pay for and not rubbish so if you have any ideas or links i would be gratefull.

Spark6 12:23 17 Apr 07

When you start, simply make a detailed note of the facts as you know them. There is no necessity to purchase software at this stage.

Visit click here and enter the details you know. These details will appear in the form of a family tree and will have the added advantage that other contributors will see the names of your relatives but will not be able to view your tree without your permission.

Subscribe to click here and you will have access to BMD's, Census reports etc. Google: genealogy, family tree, family records, BMD etc and follow your nose. I'm back to the mid 1750's doing the above.

Happy hunting and let us know how you get on.

Sparkly 12:36 17 Apr 07

Thanks for your help Spark6 i will give them both ago, the ancestry.com sounds if its a bit more in depth but might be worth subscribing to thanks again and here goes.

P1d 12:52 17 Apr 07

I'm back to the mid 1800's but am researching the Scottish side so the websites are slightly different. This weeks Sunday Mail gave away 20 free credits to a Scottish Genealogy website which was ideal for me.