gandalf! im sure you have the answer!

Ramification 22:06 09 Mar 04

hi there,
i have a 11month old system -
a amd 2100 proc, 80gb maxtor hdd, elitegroup k755a ami motherboard, running xp pro. ive just bought a 160gb maxtor hdd and i cant get it to show the 160gb. its showing as 31gb.
i have sp1. installed.
i have bigdrive enabler installed.
i have maxblast - which when run shows the new drive to be 160gb, allows me to partition this size.....
but when i go into windows it shows up as 31gb.
ive tried partition magic. no go.
im lead to believe the only thing left is to flash my bios. (oh no!) not something i want to do. i read in the other threads you say that its rare anyone needs to do this...
so what else is there to try?
im 'ok' with computers as ive done a BTEC course but im no proffesional. (obviously as i wouldnt be asking your proffesional advice!) :)

-Beb- 22:11 09 Mar 04

Havea look at the jumpers on the back of the hard drive, as some can be set to look like they are 31 gb for people who use an older OS which is not able to support a hdd of 31gb +.

In addition to that ensure that you have correctly formatted the drive as NTFS

If those two fail then i would recommend a bios upgrade on you m'board

Try the disk management in XPit worked on mine see here click here

Djohn 22:21 09 Mar 04

Ramification. Try right click on your "My Computer" Icon. Choose "Manage" then "Disk management". Right click on the right-hand side of your new slave drive and choose "Format". It will take a while to do but should be recognised fully afterwards. j.

Ramification 22:22 09 Mar 04

thanks guys...

formatting in NTFS yes,
the jumpers...i'll check that but i think its ok, set from website manual..
in disk management in xp it shows as 31gb...

woodchip 22:24 09 Mar 04

First thing If I was you is use MAXBLAST and remove it from your drive. Then use Partition Magic ot Acronis to partition and format your drive

SEASHANTY 23:02 09 Mar 04

click here