GAMES CRASH ON TIME COMPUTER!!!....WHY & HELP!!

aleso 21:34 20 Feb 03

I have Windows Me,8oomhz Amd Athlon,Rvidia Riva Tnt2 Model 64 and i've just downloaded DirectX 9.0(Which i've been told is pointless).Every game that i've bought SHOULD have worked on this computer,also i've tried reducing the acceleration but that hasn't helped.I've ran Dxdiag also which shows no problems and i haven't added any hardware since buying this computer(2001).I did download a driver from Windows update which just froze/crashed?? the computer in no more than 5mins.After all this *@*& i don't think i'll buy another computer from Time.......grrrr.One last thing all 7 games don't need patches also i'm a total novice with computers

Gaz 25 21:44 20 Feb 03

Worked on all my computers and actually made it faster.

You could try reinstalling Direct X 8.

AMD 4 ever 21:46 20 Feb 03

That Graphics card is not really that ideal for gaming of high demand, it will run perhaps but at what benefit!
You will need to ensure you have all upto date drivers.
Go into BIOS and start from there. Reset it all by loading up the setup or default settings. This will ensure there is no overclocking or forced hardwar issues.

Kyomii 21:53 20 Feb 03

Direct X 9 is still buggy and in its early stages - also the graphics card you have is pretty old hat now and does not support DX 9 (I think it only just supports DX 7) and is probably the reason why your computer is crashing.

You don't say when the crashing started or for how long it has been happening. You also said that every game you have bought should run on your computer - however, its not just processor speed, it is also graphics card that can cause limitations when running a game, I'm afraid the TNT2 64 is very limited for many of the games available today.