Fujitsu Siemens AMILO D7820 - Overheating?

pukka7773 20:33 05 Aug 04

Hello, can anyone help, I seem to have a common fault on these systems. My system seem to switch itself off whenever it feels! Usually when it gets hot. I have checked for viruses etc and have checked to see if the fan is working and all is ok. On the advice of a very helpful person last time I was on I have installed Speedfan which basically informs me that when the keyboard is in my laptop it runs at a maximum of 46 degrees before switching off, where as if I take the keyboard out it cooks at about 59 degrees warming the room well in this bleak English summer!

Has anyone any ideas? As PC World and Fujitsu aren't too helpful!

Gongoozler 22:05 05 Aug 04

Hi pukka7773. I have no experience of this machine, but I'll share a few thoughts on the problem. You have installed a software application, which I guess is monitoring the computer temperature. If the temperature you are monitoring is that of the processor, then 46 degrees is not excessively high, but 59 could be a problem.

Laptop computers usually (I think) use the baseplate to dissipate the heat, and some do this more efficiently than others. If your computer is overheating at high ambient temperatures, ten ensuring a free flow of air over the base, or standing it on a surface that is good at conducting the heat away, could help the situation.

If your laptop is within its warranty period, then I think the behaviour you describe makes it unfit for the purpose for which it was sold, and therefore PC World may not be being helpful, but they are responsible, so don't take any nonsense from them.

pukka7773 07:39 06 Aug 04