FSUTIL utility

tarren 14:29 29 Mar 08

Hi,

I am informed when attempting to run System Restore that "Windows has detected file system corruption on "C", you must check the disk for errors before it can be restored.
I have run chkdsk but it doesn't seem to make any difference, still cannot run System Restore.

Reading an earlier post, I tried to "run" the FSUTIL command but am informed, "The facility requires that I must have administrative privileges, since my account is as an administrator I am a bit mystified.

Any help would be gratefully received.

tarren 14:31 29 Mar 08

Hi,
Forgot to add I am running Vista Home Premium.

brundle 18:39 29 Mar 08

put cmd in the search run/box, when Command Prompt appears right click and select Run As Administrator, then try fsutil

tarren 10:24 30 Mar 08

Hi brundle,

Thank you for your response, have done as you suggested and able to run the command.

My problem is that although Windows checks the file it doesn't give the option to repair.

I have also right clicked "C" and tried to repair that way , but again it simply checks at boot up and as before no option to repair. Any further advise would be gratefully received.

One other thing I might mention is that SP1 refuses to install, I suspect that is also due to the same errors on "C".

brundle 10:54 30 Mar 08

Read this; click here

It talks about XP but the command is the same for Vista

tarren 13:59 30 Mar 08

Hi brundle,

Will give it a go later today\tomorrow will let you know how I get on. Not withstanding, my laptop is running really well.

Thanks again,

tarren.

tarren 17:53 31 Mar 08

Hi brundle,

Have tried your suggestion but still no joy I'm afraid, will just have to keep on trying, just cannot understand why it's not working for me.

Went through this routine many times.