Frontpage or Dreamweaver???

WHATEVERULIKE 21:24 10 Aug 04

I am very new to web page making and have very little knowledge of HTML. Would anyone be able to advise me on which of the two is better, Frontpage or Dreamweaver.
Also if anyone knows of another program which is easier to use, any suggestions will be welcomed.

Forum Editor 21:35 10 Aug 04

to web design software I don't recommend DreamWeaver as an introduction. It has a fairly steep learning curve, and many people find it a little daunting.

FrontPage is probably a good deal easier at first, although it's every bit as powerful as DreamWeaver when you get under the surface - it offers the best of both worlds in a way.

A real alternative is NetObjects Fusion. It's friendly enough for someone with no experience of web design, and powerful enough for when you gain a bit more confidence.

WHATEVERULIKE 22:35 10 Aug 04

Ive heard many people badmouthing Frontpage, particularly in the Amazon reviews section, yet i have heard nothing but praise for Dreamweaver why is this. In what ways are they different?
Also thank you very much for your quick response Forum editor.

Jarvo 23:18 10 Aug 04

I have used FP FP 2002,2003 and dream-weaver and FP especially in 2003 version offers most of what dream-weaver can do and in some cases more! this is combined with a user friendly MS interface so if you are used to apps like MS office you will soon be away and flying with FP. cant recommend the 2003 version enough.

Jarvo

Forum Editor 23:31 10 Aug 04

had almost achieved Olympic sport status at one time, and I suspect that quite a few of the people who still do it are actually basing their views on much earlier versions - they haven't bothered to use any of the recent editions.