Front page and Free webspace

Eileanbeag 16:58 28 Feb 05

I've got a cooy of Frontpage and wondered if I created a web page would I be able to load it on to my Freespace - I am new to this and am unsure what Frontpage servers are - I understand all websites won't accept Frontpage

LeadingMNMs 18:00 28 Feb 05

I don't really use Frontpage, but if all your doing is creating a static webpage then you can use it to create them. I think the problems come when you start getting into Server Extensions, as I'm certain you're free webspace will not support them.

Taran 18:30 28 Feb 05

Most freely available web space such as that supplied by your ISP will not support FrontPage Server Extensions.

You can still use FrontPage to design your site though. What you do is switch off or disable the Server Extensions for the web you are working on, which allows you to make the site without using any components that require Server Extensions.

You don't say which version of FrontPage you have and this is important since the process to disable Server Extensions in the web is slightly different depending on the version of the program you are using.

FrontPage 2000 can be dealt with as follows:

1. Open your site in FrontPage 2000

2. From the Tools menu, choose Page Options.

3. Click on the Compatibility tab.

4. Remove the check from the box next to Enabled with Microsoft FrontPage Server Extensions.

5. Click the Ok button to save the changes.

To enable the Server Extensions again you do the same but put the tick back into the check box and click on OK.

For FrontPage 2003, do the following:

1. Open your site in FrontPage 2003

2. From the Tools menu, choose Page Options.

3. In the Page Options dialog box, click the Authoring tab.

4. Clear the Browse-time Web Components check box.

5. Click OK to apply the change to your web.