Freeview TV / record & watch different channels

JYM 11:55 21 May 07

Hi there

I am new to this but desperate!
I bought a BUSH tv with built-in freeview and 2 scart soccets.

I would like to buy a machine that:

* Can record a dvd

* Has a hard drive

* Can record one program while watching another station.

I have bought about 4 machines and taken them back as they don't work. I have since found out that all machines are not compatable with each other. Having visited several shops to chat to 'knoweldgeable' salesmen, I have a head full of conflicting advice / knowledge. Apparentley I should have been aware that built in freeview means I can't record only watch freeview as everybody knows this! Just not me.

I am thinking of getting sky basic package to improve my aerial signal and would also like to know after following a thread, could I record sky using a basic decoder onto say.....Panasonic, or would I need the sky+ option?
Does the Panasonic have built-in freeview or twin tuner? What is the difference?

When I plugged in the other machines, they only picked up the analogue channels. Even when I deleted them from the tv.
I need to record and watch two different channels. Maybe freeview & freeview
freeview & sky
sky & sky

You will need to carefully read all of what I have thrown at you as it's alot! Sorry!!!
Hope you can give me some good advice.

Fruit Bat /\0/\ 12:20 21 May 07

What do you want to record on, DVD or hard drive?

get a DVD or HDD recorder with a built in digital tuner and aerial loop through to record on.

then you should be able to watch another digital channel on the tuner built into your TV.

oldbeefer2 13:56 21 May 07

This one click here will do all you ask for 150 quid. I've had one for a few months now. Must have a good aerial, though.

oldbeefer2 13:57 21 May 07

Whoops, just noticed you wanted to record a dvd as well. Bear in mind that you can record 80hours of progs, so do you need to burn as well?

JYM 14:00 21 May 07