free and legal dvd ripper recommendations please

eysha 14:06 16 Aug 09

Hi, i am after a free but legal dvd ripper. I want to convert my family dvd's so i can put them on an ipod.
Can anyone recommend a good one that won't cause me problems as i am not too good with computer stuff really. I have read some reviews and some crash the computer etc and i would be lost then so a recommendation from someone here would be good.
Thanks in advance
E.

crosstrainer 14:21 16 Aug 09

It really depends on what format you wish to rip, and if the content is not legally copyrighted.

If you can be a little more specific about exactly what you want to do it will help us :))

bionicle 14:23 16 Aug 09

You could try click here

eysha 14:34 16 Aug 09

I have a Samsung yp-p3 players, my daughter said it is not an ipod thing - sorry i thought it was as it plays videos, music and has a radio etc on it.

crosstrainer 16:10 16 Aug 09

I think you will find that most content is copyright....No legal way to advise here..Sorry.

eysha 16:40 16 Aug 09

Crosstrainer, i think you have me all wrong. I am wanting to convert MY OWN home made family disks to my MP3 thing, as above, not breaqch copyright - I would never do that as i am an artist and disagree with breaching it or any law.
I did get Next DVD ripper as it is free and legal but my dvd's came through without sound so it was no good.
I don't do illegal stuff.

eedcam 18:32 16 Aug 09

If you only want to rip them to your pc then dvd shrink is as good as any but do you also need to convert if so do you already have software for that or do you need some
Shrink is quite straightforward only amatter of choosing open disc then when its ready choose make hard disc folder this will give you a Video Ts -Folder which will contain the Vob files ready for converting with whatever you have
click here

Any further info just ask

eysha 19:02 16 Aug 09