formatting a second hand pc

sparksiemark 13:50 28 Oct 09

Hi, im new to pc's and i am learning as i go along.
I have bought my kids a second hand pc which is running windows xp, but it is extremly slow.
The bloke that i bought it off said that windows was pre-loaded onto it and thats why there isn't a windows CD.
Its an ACER ASPIRE and it is about 9 years old.
Is there any way to confirm that windows is pre-loaded onto it, and how would i format it so that the baic window components are installed?
Thanks..

oldbeefer2 14:27 28 Oct 09

Nine years old? That's probably why it's slow. beforwe a reformat, might be worth doing the usual houskeeping with CCleaner, anti virus and antimalware. Also check what RAM is installed as it could be minimal on a PC of that age (use the tool click here, assuming it's connected to tinternet).

oldbeefer2 14:40 28 Oct 09

Nine years old? That's probably why it's slow. beforwe a reformat, might be worth doing the usual houskeeping with CCleaner, anti virus and antimalware. Also check what RAM is installed as it could be minimal on a PC of that age (use the tool click here, assuming it's connected to tinternet).

oldbeefer2 14:41 28 Oct 09

Sorry for the double post - finger trouble!

wee eddie 15:26 28 Oct 09

and have to buy a new copy.

The route to go is to return it to Factory Settings. A visit to the Acer Site should help you on this. There should be a sticker on the Side, or Back, with the Windows Serial Number.

Before doing that. Download this click here It's free and will tell you the exact specification of your PC.

Before then, as 'oldbeefer2' said, the PC is probably pretty clogged with kack. CCleaner will clean a lot of Rubbish, as will a Defrag. All Programs > Accessories > System Tools > Defrag.

If the PC has not been Defragged for a while. Make sure that everything is turned off, including any Screen Savers, and be prepared to let it run overnight.

Kevscar1 16:20 28 Oct 09

Also run CCcleaners reg cleaner