Format Trouble, Sorry For The Star Office Challeng

Mad Boy 11:08 28 Apr 03

Im sorry, i couldnt take part in the star office 6 challenge due to format difficulties.
Anyway.....

First of all as a computer beginner I was previously advised to format my PC (3 years of waste on it) anyway little did i know i needed a boot disk, and all my driver files. I have been on since friday trying to install my printer, scanne, modem, sound, graphics etc. Im really annoyed as i couldnt get the modem working til now. And what resolution should the screen be on? mine is on 800x600 and it looks small. It also took me ages to install my graphics which i think is still wrong. In my display properties it says this:

Smile/KFC CA6525DL/CB6525DL on S3 Inc. Trio3D V2.62.06

If theres something wrong please say.

I didnt realise what a hassle it is getting the computer back to normal!

MAJ 11:39 28 Apr 03

Yes Mad Boy, if you're going to format your hard drive, you need to have all the drivers for your devices ready to reinstall again as a format will wipe *everything* from the drive, not only the data and rubbish you've built up.

If you have a 17" monitor the usual default resolution is 1024 x 768(??), if you have a 15" monitor the usual default resolution is 800 x 600. You can change the resolution in Control Panel > Display > Settings tab.

Smile/KFC CA6525DL/CB6525DL is your monitor and S3 Inc. Trio3D V2.62.06 is your video card. If you're having problems with your display, look for up to date drivers on the net for your graphics card.

Mad Boy 11:49 28 Apr 03

It looks okay, just some programs say they need to be opened via a screen res of 800x600

My screen looks slightly smaller, though im not worried as long as everything is working. And hey, now i can see more stuff on screen :)

MAJ 11:59 28 Apr 03