format and reinstall problem

3tg 01:04 23 Jan 04

I am giving away my old computer, I formatted it and hoped to reinstall Win 98, Now all I have is the "c" prompt and nothing happens in the cd drive (d). I am not experienced at this at all, I did not want to leave want personal data on the computer so I gave it a go, but I may have blown it. Any advice would be much appreciated.

Tog 07:21 23 Jan 04

Download a copy of the windows 98 bootdisk from click here use it to create a boot floppy. Boot using the floppy and Roberts' your mum's brother.

you may be able to change your boot order in BIOS and boot from the CDROM with the 98 CD in.

Brian-336451 07:27 23 Jan 04

When you were using the computer did you create a Win98 Rescue disk (hope you did, its superb).

If you did, just put it in the floppy drive and boot from it, choosing With CD Support on the options.

Your computer will see the CDRom drive now and you can install Win98.

Oh just a thought, when you see the C: prompt, have you tried typing d: and seeing if D:\ appears, if it does then put your CD in the drive and type cd win98\setup.exe

Good luck, failing that the suggestion above is the way to go.

3tg 20:19 23 Jan 04

Sorry about the delay in replying. I Used the Win98 boot disk, and I ended up with the "c" prompt. I typed D:\ and it said it did not recognise the drive. As I said I can handle the basics but not the heavy stuff. Perhaps I would be better to take in in somewhere and have them fix it. At least you made me feel that it's not totally dead ! Thank you.

3tg 20:35 23 Jan 04

does anyone know if Time would supply a recovery disk ?, Cheers

Brian-336451 16:41 24 Jan 04

If you have one of those, when the computer boots using it, it should give you the option to boot with CDRom support.

In that case, choose that option, using the arrow keys to highlight the option.