rotormota 19:14 31 Oct 05

Is there some software available for translating my website text into other languages easily?

Forum Editor 19:19 31 Oct 05

Some sites/software may tell you that they'll translate your text, but I have yet to find one that makes a proper job of it.

I often have to design sites with different language versions - French, Italian, Spanish, and German. I work with translators in each of those countries, and they smile when they see the text that's turned out by translation sites/software. If you want a really professional job I'm afraid you'll need to use a human translator.

mco 19:54 31 Oct 05

In the real world I am a modern languages teacher and believe me FE is dead right. Don't even think of translating software; it can't even translate simple passages for students cheating on homework let alone serious websites.

rotormota 20:37 31 Oct 05

Thanks for that folks.

So my site is in English & assuming I got my text translated how would a visitor from another country see my site in their language. Would it be a click option or something? Would the layout & design remain the same or end up some jumbled mess?

harristweed 08:46 01 Nov 05
  mco 11:34 01 Nov 05

I just tried my own site's front page on it, English to French, and I'm not convinced. It's about 80 percent accurate but it's the ten percent that's seriously wrong that makes all the difference. I suppose it would be ok if you just wanted a quick translation for your own purposes when surfing the net, but I still wouldn't use it for a professional site translation.

mco 11:36 01 Nov 05

that should have been 20% obviously; not a maths teacher!

Forum Editor 00:42 02 Nov 05