Folder/File data recovery

wotbus@ 10:16 21 Mar 06

I suppose it had to happen sometime :-( - I have managed to lose some saved folders/files during a re-installtion. Nothing of great importance but rather great inconvenience factor. Can anyone recommend a software recovery tool? The HDD in question has been disconnected and will remain so until I try to do a recovery. Thanks in advance.

wotbus@ 10:18 21 Mar 06

Sorry - should have searched first but any further comments would be appreciated.

TonyM 10:39 21 Mar 06

I have used PC Inspector File recovery software very successfully in the past, to get stuff that had been deleted from both hard drives and USB keys....

see click here

wotbus@ 10:51 21 Mar 06

Thanks TonyM. I have never used this sort of software before, is it really that simple - just install it and run it? Is it better to do in safe mode etc and presumabley the interface asks you what to do with it when you have found it? Sorry to sound so green but this is new for me. Having made a bit of a mess up I don't want to make it any worse.

remind 10:54 21 Mar 06

Simple as that, it will scan your drive and check for deleted items - you just pick what you want restored and select a folder on a different drive to store it to. No guarantees with any of this kind of software though, you may get the filename and correct file size but no useable data in the file itself, depending how messed up your other drive is. Very effective and useful software however.

wotbus@ 10:59 21 Mar 06

OK remind, thanks for that. Better in safe mode or not?

wotbus@ 13:21 21 Mar 06

Hmmm, not really as simple as that. I have used PC Inspector File Recovery but to my surprise it found nothing on either of my HDD's! When I click the scan option a little window appears momentarity, I see "BIOS..." etc, it's as though the scan is starting then nothing - just back to the initial window.

wotbus@ 14:57 21 Mar 06