Flight Sim 2004 users, your help please

timothywilliam 19:28 13 Jan 05

Flight Simulator 2004.
Version 9

Windows XP Home Version
Graphics card GeForce 2mx/mx 400.

I have been running this FS 2004 for two years without problems.
Now, whenever I land an aircraft, after touchdown and after about two seconds on the runway, the screen goes black and Task Manager states that the program is not responding, and so finishes. I notice too that fuel consumption appears to be very high, I have watched a fuel gauge literally move down to empty.
I have fiddled with the Settings within FS including the Scenery Library but I am apprehensive of altereing the prorities. I have also put all settings to default but the problem still occurs. It may be co-incidental but I think this problem occurred after I installed Windows SP2. (I have UK VFR photographic scenery recently installed but I think (!) the problem occurred before this. I notice the problem does not occur in the UK.)

I have done a Defrag. and emptied the Temp Folders. I know that there are some new Drivers out for my Graphics Card which I have not installed yet. I hesitate because of the stories I read that new Drivers can cause more problems than they solve. Also it is a very hefty download time on Pay As You Go as I am. I see no reason what could be the reason for the problem because the programme has worked for two years perfectly. I have looked at the Microsoft Self Support pages but I cannot identify anything which mentions the screen going black on ‘landing’ as mine does. Unbelievably although I have tapped in my ID number to Microsoft in the hope of help and state they do not support it so how can I get help from them ?
Can you make any suggestions to cure the problem or make any tests or adjustments please ? Or any ideas at all ?
It is very frustrating.

wotbus@ 19:45 13 Jan 05

Have you installed the FS9 Update from MS ?
click here