Flashing Bios HELP NEEDED

tbh72 02:38 04 Feb 03

I had decided to flash my bios so I could unleash the full potential of my XP processor, but I am afraid I have stumbled at the first hurdle. I have a PCChips mobo and the code is:

62-0226-001131-00101111-071595-SiS730s-M810LR-h

I have been to the PCChips website & am totally confused by which updated file to use.

If there are any experts out there that would be kind enough to steer me to the right Bios Update I'll be all ready to rumble.

I am an absolute expert now and fully understand the procedure down to the very last detail, I am charged & ready to go.......

PS

I am prepared to take the risk, it's a cheap board, must remember to remove my expensive CPU & Ram first & replace with disposables!!!!

temp003 05:13 04 Feb 03

click here for Belarc Advisor which will tell you all the details of your system, including the motherboard. Most of the time, it's quite accurate, but use it as a guide only.

Other than that, here's what I can gather from the PCChips site.

Clarity of support information is not one of PCChips' strong points, not helped by the changes they have made recently to the naming of the models and BIOS structure.

The model name of your mobo was originally M810LR. L stood for Lan, R apparently stood for Ready (whatever that means, shouldn't they all be ready?). PCChips have changed the nomenclature, and now R stands for RAID. So M810LR is now called, on their website, just M810L.

The M810L v71c is a mobo with an onboard Duron processor. Since you have an Athlon XP, you can ignore that model on the website (C stands for mobo that comes with onboard CPU).