Fixing PCs with copied Windows CDs

Head-ache 09:53 24 Feb 05

Hi,

I have a bit of a problem with my business. I repair PCs for a living always preferring to fix rather than go down the "reinstall Windows" route a lot of local companies here prefer.

However i often come across a dialema. Occassionally i do need to reinstall Windows (or Office etc) and the cusomer produces a CDR with Windows 98/Me/XP written on it and scruffy piece of paper with the 25 digit code on it.

Now in the past i have always refused to use these disks on the basis that it opens me to prosecution and that neither of us can know 100% whats on the disk. However now i'm having to turn down more and more work because the owner can't produce a 100% legit disk.

I'm not after legal advise and i'm not going to go to the police everytime i get handed a pirate disk but want to know if go to a customer and they hand me a CDR or a disk "borrowed from a friend" then should i use the disk or not?

If i were to use the disk I would be doing wrong, wouldn't i?

ventanas 10:00 24 Feb 05

Yes you would be doing wrong. The product key for the computer should be on the box itself (if OEM) If they cannot produce a genuine disc that agrees with this key without a convincing explanation, something is very dodgy. Its unfortunate I know, but if the installation is not legal, and I knew it to be so, I would certainly not touch the machine with a bargepole. But I would also go further than you. I would report them.

Jeffers22 10:01 24 Feb 05

Are you sure it's not just a backup of the original disk?

If you know it is pirated, I think you are in a difficult position - well not really, you just should not use it. If the customer hands you a copy of their original, and signs a document to that effect I think you may well be covered.

stlucia 10:04 24 Feb 05

Is it a realistic option to install a new Windows for them, and charge for it? Tell them the problem was caused by their dodgy disk.

Demora 10:10 24 Feb 05