Fitting new psu and graphics card

DJfree33 14:39 28 Jul 07

I've just bought a new graphics card click here and this PSU click here
and am about to fit them, this is my first time changing a PSU and the instructions are a little vague for me, any help and advise would be great, last thing i want to do is get it wrong.

My system is:
AMD Athlon 64 Processor 3400+,
MSI K8MM-ILSR motherboard,
1024mb DDR memory,
200gb serial ATA hard disk,

Totally-braindead 14:55 28 Jul 07

Don't be too concerned about fitting the power supply wrongly, you can't unless you somehow manage to mangle the connectors out of all recognition. All the connectors are handed in that they fit only one way. Just look at what is connected to your previous power supply and fit the same cables with your new power supply, watch you don't forget any of them and that you don't accidently knock any others out of the way and all should be well.
Do the power supply first, make sure all is well and then do the graphics card.

DJfree33 15:03 28 Jul 07

ok Totally-braindead, will give it a go, got my wifes laptop if all goes wrong and need help.

Totally-braindead 15:07 28 Jul 07

If it fails to boot the most likely problems are 1 you haven't switched it on - theres a power switch on the back of it, 2 you've either forgotten to connect a lead or its not in properly or 3 you've knocked off another lead such as a lead to the hard drives or whatever.

You might notice it has a 24 pin power connector, now your PC might only use 20 pins and if so you will find the 4 extra pins will slide off leaving you the 20 pins you need.

DJfree33 16:39 28 Jul 07

ok, i'm a little stuck, cant find a manual for my mother board and un sure which cable is for the feed to graphics card click here got a wiring plan for a PCI-e and a SLi.
Have a lead direct from the PSU that looks as it would fit Graphics card but i think this is for a PCI-E card. aaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhh

DJfree33 16:40 28 Jul 07