fit a 2nd hard drive

mec13 00:39 17 Sep 05

My system is xp home. I have an old hard drive with millennium on(taken out of an old machine), my wish is to put this hard drive into my present computer as a 2nd (slave) hard drive.

I'm just trying something I've never done before,so its more of a 'see what I can do' sort of thing. The hard drive is an old Fujitsu 4.3gb, which is all thats left from this old machine (dismantled, bits given away etc). My idea is to format this 'hard drive', then think of something else to use it for, (ie back ups etc).

On reading things about this procedure, the 'jumpers' have to be set up correctly, but would appreciate a little guidance or links to how I can accomplish this little desire of mine.

Err just to remind all you 'tech masters', I'm am in the 'absolute beginners' forum, for obvious reasons.

Forum Editor 07:24 17 Sep 05

will currently be set to configure the drive as a 'master', and as you say, that must be changed to set the drive as a slave. It's normally an easy procedure - the jumper positions are marked, but of course you need to know what the markings mean.

Take a look at the back of the drive, and locate the small jumper block - it will probably have a series of numbers (many Fujitsu drives do) above and below the little jumper pins.

At the moment, you should see that the small plastic jumper is on pin numbers 7 & 8, which correspond to the master setting. Remove the jumper and place it on pin numbers 3 & 4.