First time user of Vista - protection requirements

compumac 11:40 28 Jul 09

Just acquired an Advent 7113 laptop that had thrown a complete wobbly. Unable to access the hidden partition to put it back to factory state. Now installed Vista Premium (legally).

I wish to install the necessary protection that I currently have with XP, i.e. A-Squared-AntiMalware, AVG V8.5 Free, CCleaner, Zone Alarm etc, but am uncertain as to their functionality within Vista.
I have never used Vista before and therefore pose the following questions:-
Can the following work comfortably and be viable/useful programmes within Vista?
A-squared Anti-Malware
AVG V8.5 Free
CCleaner
Zone Alarm.

Acronis V11
Diskeeper Pro 2007
Partition Magic V8

What does anyone recommend as protection programmes for Vista?

Bob The Blob 11:49 28 Jul 09

They all work fine with Vista. You don't need zonealarm, just use vista's inbuilt firewall.

mooly 11:51 28 Jul 09

What would I recommend,
Well it's not free but I use only FSecure full internet security. Have no other real time protection running. Have Windows Defender turned OFF. Windows firewall OFF (All managed by FS).
Best of all it doesn't hog resources.
Do all these freebies real time scan ? or do you have to do a manual scan.
CC is fine with Vista. So to Acronis (v10TI I use), I use them both. I have "Superantispyware" installed (after being constantly told too on here :)) but it never finds anything.
And don't "fiddle" would be my advice... Vista's pretty good.

compumac 11:56 28 Jul 09

mooly
fiddle?

Bob The Blob 11:57 28 Jul 09

I use malwarebytes anti-malware too. Good program.
Have uninstalled a-squared as it finds too many false positives and takes an age to update.

mooly 12:19 28 Jul 09

Aye.. fiddle... don't !
How to improve start up times, how to do improve this that and the other, disabling things you really shouldn't etc etc.
Just let Vista do it's thing.
Why did it throw a "wobbly" ? did you upset it :)

compumac 12:59 28 Jul 09

mooly