First attempts at website

georgemac 10:33 01 Feb 04

This is my first attempt at building a website, and I would be grateful for comments. click here to view the site. I am involved to a small extent in this campaign, but the guy in charge is getting a professional webpage constructed, but as a project I thought I would try and construct something.

My son (11) and I also hope to construct a website, for the family to view and have made a start click here again grateful for comments. Am a little unsure about having too much personal details and probably photos on the internet available to anyone, again grateful for your thoughts on this.

phil 14:48 01 Feb 04

With your son's site it's not good practise to have an external site load in your own frames, ie the Man Yoo and Aberdeen websites.

You will need to change the code for each link on your menu to include a target at the end: target="_blank"

That will then force a new window to open.

georgemac 15:42 01 Feb 04

for that tip, have fixed it now, when it was built that is what we wanted but did not know how to do it.

Wish I could get broadband, the connection today seems painfully slow.

Could I make a suggestion regarding the first site. You have no link to the HIE website click here nor do you list the Free-phone number for registrations with them.(unfortunately i cant remember it off-hand but the TV ads should start up again next week). Tying in to there campaign will probably be of benefit to you,

georgemac 17:38 01 Feb 04

thanks, an interesting link, although we are outside the HIE area, but I managed to visit the broadband for scotland and scottish enterprise sites from there.

Have some images taken from digital camera, trying to build a web page but struggling with image size etc, have to do some research.

The GnoMe 07:53 02 Feb 04

just a tip, you dont need the aminmated title and hot news. as they look bad ( i think) and take you eyes off the actual page content

maybe just have the envelope