First Attempt At A Web Site - Please Review

SimpleSimon1 18:34 08 Nov 07

Good Evening Everybody

Since I'm brand new to this whole web-design thing, I'd appreciate any feedback re my first attempt at a mini-web site for my wife's business.

The site is at click here and seems to validate OK. I know what people say about using a white background but the JuicyStudio colour checker says that contrast and brightness are OK. For what its worth, I think that the very pale blue does work fairly well.

Font obeys the Text Size functions in FF and IE and I'm only using Javascript to validate fields on the contact form (still in two minds about that from an accessibility point of view!).

I know the HTML table code is a bit ugly in places but I needed something quickly (although, I have used CSS where possible). I'll be developing her a full web site in the next month or so and, hopefully, that will be clean CSS, with no tables.

Anyway, all comments are welcome and, hopefully, people won't find the site (if that isn't too grand a name for it) too shoddy.

Thanks

Simon

gibbs1984 19:56 08 Nov 07

I like it, it's clean, it's clearly laid out, you use white space well, clear headings, the background colour doesn't clash with the font.

Good first try in my opinion.

Marko797 21:08 08 Nov 07

clean, fresh, easy on the eye..good attempt!

CodeMeister 21:55 08 Nov 07

Hi SimpleSimon1,

It's a nice clean design, but just to be critical, the W3C validator threw up 10 errors.

click here for the W3 validator, then enter your website address and then click the "Check" button.

Forum Editor 22:48 08 Nov 07

is that the readability could be improved.