firefox incompatibility with new site design

kiz 14:19 09 Apr 07

I have just started to put together a site in dreamweaver and have checked the first page in IE7. All OK and then looked at in Firefox - yuck.
Can anyone help as I am new to this. I tried to keep it all very simple, using a table layout. Site can be seen at click here
Thanks in advance for any solution.
PS I realise images, nav bars etc have still work to do on them but dont want to go any further till I sort this out.

CodeMeister 16:12 09 Apr 07

Hi Kiz,

First of all, have a look at the following link:-

click here

Secondly, seriously consider using DIVs instead of TABLEs.

Rename CSS classes to something more meaningfull than "style2", "style3" etc.

Use an external CSS document file.

I noticed that the HTML contains the following that looks dodgy to me:-

class="style11 style12 style4 style2"

Eric10 17:30 09 Apr 07

Whilst I agree with CodeMeister that DIVs could do a better job, you can put most of it right in Firefox with minimum effort. Check for all instances in your code where a background colour (bgcolor) is specified. Several of them have the hash (#) missing that should proceed the colour number. e.g. bgcolor="#8adbb9" not bgcolor="8adbb9". IE is more forgiving of such errors than some other browsers.
Also to avoid the black area underneath and to the right of the upper photo you should specify the bgcolor for the cell containing it and unless you are intentionally stretching the bottom photo you should specify the correct width for the image.
Also, although it is permissible to specify multiple classes as in class="style11 style12 style4 style2" some of these do contradict the others. You will get the same effect using simply class="style4 style12".
Finally, give your page a meaningful title instead of the default 'Untitled Document'.

PurplePenny 17:39 09 Apr 07

Thats OK: you can have more than one style assigned.

Try this style:

.red {color: red;}

.large{font-size: 200%;}