firefox

digbee2500 10:36 07 Mar 10

Hi can anyone help. Ive been running with firefox on windows xp for some time now without problems but yesterday afetr I restarted my pc I can't connect to the internet and get the message "cannot find the server" The icons bottom right are lit but no web pages will load up. Any ideas? I'm a pc newbie so please try to tell me in basic terms. Thanks

Sbrads 10:46 07 Mar 10

First thing to try is another browser like Internet Explorer because your problem could be your internet connection to your ISP is broken.

If IE works and Firefox doesn't then your problem is Firefox. If neither work then it's your connection and perhaps a cable has been pulled out or your router needs rebooting, if they don't fix it call your ISP.

If it's Firefox faulty then try running it in Safe Mode (a shortcut should be in your Start
Menu). If that works then you probably need a new profile which usually fixes problems better than a reinstall of Firefox. Some help here.....
click here

digbee2500 11:50 07 Mar 10

Hi thanks for your reply. I tried running firefox safe but that didnt work, how do i get internet explorer working?

Technotiger 11:57 07 Mar 10

Internet Explorer (IE) should have a shortcut icon on your desktop - just double-click that icon. If IE says, cannot load page - then you will need to check your Internet connection.

digbee2500 13:15 07 Mar 10

Hi as I said previouosly Im a pc newbie so not sure how to check my connection. Can you help?

Technotiger 13:22 07 Mar 10

First - did you try IE, and if so, what happened?

digbee2500 14:03 07 Mar 10

Hi Yes, tried clicking IE and got the same message, "server could not be found" Any more ideas?

Technotiger 14:07 07 Mar 10

OK - that means you are not on-line then. So how are you using this Site at the moment? Are you on another computer?

Technotiger 14:22 07 Mar 10