Finding Modem drivers and then installing them....

Kaacee 22:46 28 Jul 03

As a PC novice i would be grateful for any advice on:

1.Where to find motorola modem drivers ?.

2.Are they free?.

3.How do i install a driver ?.

The reason for these questions is i have been advised to make sure good dial-up connections are made and ensuring i have the latest driver is one way of achieving this.

many thanks

DieSse 23:02 28 Jul 03

We can help better if you can tell us exactly what model motorola modem you have, please

ade.h 23:37 28 Jul 03

Try click here. Motorola is listed there. Installation is easy if your using XP:
It should find the new hardware and either install the driver or prompt you for it. If this doesn't happen, then right-click My Computer - Properties - Hardware tab - Device Manager. Double-click the modem and click Update driver.

Kaacee 11:07 29 Jul 03

Sorry,Modem is Motorola SM56 PCI.OS is windows 98SE

Lú-tzé 11:34 29 Jul 03

click here for a possibility

Lú-tzé 11:35 29 Jul 03

Or do a search on driversearch.com

click here

bof:) 11:36 29 Jul 03

or here

click here

Mike

Maddie 11:55 29 Jul 03

if you still have probs click on my contact evelope and let me have your e-mail address and i will attach to reply.
Maddie

DieSse 14:04 29 Jul 03

Thanks for the info - I have to say, taht if you are having problems connecting, and not getting good speeds, I wiuld recommend you to get another modem. I have repalced two Motorola SM56 modems recently, with these problmes, and the clients communications were transformed - I suspected the modems due to reading elsewhere about the general flakiness of these models.

However, if yoy want to try a driver update first, go to click here you will see there are different drivers for variations on the modem type. I can't tell which s the correct one, without knowing which you've go!