Final decision before buy, need advice

deaz 16:15 11 Apr 06

Hi everyone, I am new to networking and I want to set up my home wireless network. I have done some research today and I came to a few conclusions, I just need some advices on my decision.
I have a PC (XP) and a Laptop with an integrated wireless adoptor. The access to my phone line is downstair and just above it on the first floor is the PC I would like to install a PCI adapter (with an antenna) in.
What I am thinking to do is buy a Linksys WRT54G router and a Linksys PCI adapter.
I am on a 1Mb broadband that will become 8Mb pretty soon (is that Linksys Gear going to be able to handle that connection well?)
The thing is that I am afraid of drop outs and so on. I play online quite a lot and really need that connection to stay on and stable. I leave downloads all night also so I need the connection to stay on.
I know cables are better but the point here is to stop using my 8 meters phone extension that goes through my windows and floor and to have a simple home wireless network solution.
Please let me know your thoughts and experience on the subject.
One last question: Could I use my PC as an "emitting device" to send a connection to my laptop ?
Many thanks in advance.

Aargh 16:54 11 Apr 06

Depends on what you want to spend!

Any decent ADSL modem/router and matching PCI adapter and laptop card should give you good signal strength in any normal house (unless you have lead coated wallpaper!)

I use a Belkin F5D7632-4 router and Netgear cards.

Netgear Rangemax kit is expensive but apparently good - DG834GT ADSL router/modem and the WPN511 card/WPN311 PCI adapter. If signal is still weak after all that, throw in the WPN802 access point to boost the signal!

Remember, the whole connection speed thing is limited by the ability of the phone line - not just the claimed wifi speeds

deaz 17:06 11 Apr 06

Ok Thanks for your answer.