File retrieval from dead 98SE to new XP computer

P-300 19:24 20 Dec 05

Recently the processor in my old computer failed and the cost to fix it meant it was better to buy a new one...which I have!

However, is there any way I can retrieve some of the files from the HD and restore them on my new PC? I had back up copies of most of my important files but I did have a rather large and informative address book which I would dearly love to get access to.

What do I have to do in order to get info from the old HD on a PC that does not start up, and then how do I place it in the correct location? (Please assume I am a beginner).

Thanks in anticipation...

Fruit Bat /\0/\ 19:35 20 Dec 05

Remove hard drive from old PC and fit as slave in new PC

or fit into an external caddy and attatch to new PC (means you do not have to open case and invalidate any gaurentees) { also means you can use as spare / backp drive after extracting your files}

once connected to new PC

Search your old computer drive for files ending .dbx. These are your emails. There should be Inbox.dbx, Outbox.dbx, Drafts.dbx etc. There must also be Folders.dbx, this is the data telling OE how the emails are compressed. Save all these dbx files, then you can either import them into OE on your new computer, or overwrite the files of the same name in the new computer. Look for a file called (name).wab, this is your address book, and a folder called Favorites. Save these and either import or overwrite to transfer them.

P-300 20:37 20 Dec 05

Thanks Fruit Bat /\0/\...

Sounds like I need to purchase an "external caddy". Do you recommend anything in particular, and is it something you can plug into a USB port? (showing my ignorance here aren't I?)

Also, I haven't mentioned that the two PC's are 'family' PC's and several users used their own logons and passwords. Will this be an additional problem when trying to retrieve the particular address book I want?

VoG II 20:46 20 Dec 05