FDISK & Reinstalling Windows XP

RJack 16:55 29 May 07

I wish to wipe my Hardrive completely clean & start with a fresh reinstall of Windows XP.

I've been told to FDisk my computer however i do not have a floppy disk with this program on.

I do have Partition Magic 8 on my current set up but i have lost the disk so i'm going to repartition via FDisk.

How do I create or find this disk to be able use this program then boot off to reload Windows XP?

I've decided to make:-

C Drive as my primary for Windows XP.

I've also thought about redirecting the My Documents folder to D Drive which i will create and call my Data drive when using FDisk.

E Drive i will make for Games.

If i make a partition for a Swap drive, how do I get Windows to manage it via FDisk? also how big do i need to make a swap drive when partitioning?

Sorry for all the questions but i'm quite new to this all

Many thanks

Zak 18:23 29 May 07

Here is a good place to start:

click here

click here

Zak 18:30 29 May 07

Have a look here:

click here

Also Google under WinXP Pagefile - there are various schools of thought. It is recommended for the pagefile to be on a separate partition to the one with the OS.

Swap file tends to refer to previous versions of Windows, however it is the same thing.

G-WOLF 20:55 29 May 07

Can anyone advise on jpeg images with a screwed header. The files are there -vide Notebook and Wordpad, but wont load into PaintShopPro or any other functional program. Ive tried all the recovery programmes, and a screwed header to the picture is my last desperate guess. Can anyone re-constitute such?

Kate B 21:05 29 May 07

G-wolf, you need to start your own thread; and give it a title that indicates what your problem is, not your forum name. I suggest you put it in the helproom, too - this is the Vista forum.

Kate B 21:06 29 May 07